dans le labyrinthe de l’Acéphale

Rites of passage for our Minotauric times. Meeting the extreme and the unity of the opposites.

eclectic relations

with one comment

Recently my interest in Black Metal was revived [much due to the fellow blog Documents]. It has been a long time [if ever] since I was interested this much in it. I was into bands like Peste Noir or Meads of Asphodel, the avant/experimental side of the genre [don’t blame me on genre tagging I know there are differences in this field of unusual / experimental / avant-garde black metal but I am no expert to tell]. Anyway my entry point to Black Metal per se is the pre-mid-nineties era. Much now in the progress of discovering and rediscovering.

One of the discoveries is early Satyricon. Dark Medieval Times is a neglected masterpiece [at least in comparison with other highly praised ‘all-time-classics’] of the old times. Brilliant!

Concurrently I am going also through Burzum’s discography. A much different case. His music is tormented and far more cryptic. I made though a single observation [of no use] that struck me as interesting.

There is a phrase in Skyggedans [3rd track of Dark Medieval Times] starting slightly after 2mins [about at 2.04], on the same phrase [a little more muted perhaps] is based Stemmen Fra Tårnet the opening track of Aske EP. In Satyricon’s case it is part of a rather ‘descriptive’ song, while in Burzum’s is the very core of Stemmen.. There is, in Stemmen.., a trance-like quality, based on repetition and circulation of a slowly evolving musical part, technique we are familiar to, holding key-role to other Vikernes’ compositions as well [reaching its inimitable height in Jesus’ Tod].

The material on this two releases was composed and recorded around the same time [mid’92 to ’93] by two pioneering Norse acts with much different approaches to the genre. I, at least, was intrigued to find this immediate connection.

Written by dmtls

6 September, 2008 at 10:45 am

Posted in music

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks! I’m sorry for not writing much on Black Metal at the moment. I’m a little too obsessed with Matthew Bower’s projects at the moment (Skullflower/Hototogisu) to write about BM. I hope you still enjoy my blog nonetheless.

    BTW, I can recommend Pyha’s release on Tumult records, odd Xasthurian BM by a South Korean teenager.

    Valter

    10 September, 2008 at 7:35 pm


Leave a Reply

